End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

One kind of kwote that I have yet to write about is a kwote from a song. Music is one of my greatest inspirations, so I thought, “What the heck, I’ll write about one of my favorite songs.”. And, here we are.

I didn’t post the entire lyric in the title because it would have been way too long and the second half of the kwote isn’t as relevant. However, I would never think of jipping you fine people, and the lyric is a great one, so here it is in its entirety:

“If I had a chance for another try, I wouldn’t change a thing. It’s made me all who I am inside. And if I could thank God that I am here and that I am alive, cause everyday I wake, I tell myself a little harmless lie. The whole wide world is mine.”

Pretty cool, huh? Now, let’s see what this fine lyric is trying to tell us

In life, you might do some things that really aren’t terrific. You might look back on something and say, “That wasn’t my brightest moment.”. You might make a poor decision or say something that you shouldn’t have. Let’s face it, we’re human. We do stupid stuff sometimes. Actually, we do stupid stuff all the time. It’s just part of who we are.

So, with all these bone headed things in mind, if I were to ask you “If you could go back in time and do anything differently, would you?”, what would you say? Before you answer, let me give you some food for thought.

All of the things that you’ve done, all of the relationships that you’ve created or discarded, and all of the decisions that you’ve made have contributed to the person that you are today. Whether you like it or not, everything that you’ve done has shaped and molded you as an individual. Like today’s kwote says, “It’s made me all who I am inside”.. So, if you changed anything that you did, what kind of person would you be? How would you be different? Would you be a better person? Would you be smarter, wiser, or stronger? These are all questions that I can’t answer. That’s up to you to decide. Different people might answer in different ways. But, one thing is for sure; if you changed anything that you have done, you would lose a part of yourself as a person.

Now, like I said, different people may have different opinions about changing their past. Is losing a part of yourself a negative thing? Maybe, maybe not. Totally up for interpretation. Answer the question as you please.

However, I’ll share my two cents as well.

If you were to ask me that question about changing my past, I would agree with todays kwote. I would say that, up to this point in my life, I wouldn’t change a thing. The explanation for my answer is also in accordance with the lyric. Everything that I have done has made me the person that I am today. Everything that I have encountered, every decision that I have made, and every step that I have taken has constructed me as a person. And through everything, the good, the bad, and the ugly (there has been plenty of each), I’m a stronger person. I’m a wiser person. I’m a better person.

I’ve done a lot of really, really stupid things, and I’ve made some absolutely horrible decisions. But, those actions and those decisions have taught me some of my most important life lessons. Every dumb thing I’ve done has made me feel like crap. Initially, I feel stupid and I would do anything to take my action back. But, after that crummy feeling, I look back on what I’ve done. I store that bad feeling in my brain and I teach myself to make decisions that avoid that feeling from then on. I learn, and I get better. I appreciate the things that have happened to me because they have made me who I am.

So, if I had a chance for another try, I wouldn’t change a thing. I submit to the “Everything happens for a reason” school of thought. But, that’s just me. You’re entitled to your own opinion, whatever that may be.

Remember, anything that you’ve done in your life has impacted you in some way. Good, bad or otherwise, it’s changed you as a person. Some people may wish to alter their past, others may wish to keep it the same. But, my advice to you is to try to view everything in your past as an opportunity to learn. Look at everything that you’ve encountered as a way to make yourself stronger. You’re going to do some lousy things in life. It’s inevitable. However, how you change after those events is totally up to you. Are you going to dwell on the past and keep wishing that you could do it over? Or are you going to move on and mold those events into lessons that allow you to grow stronger? That choice, though different for all, is completely up to you. Choose wisely.

End Kwote

3 thoughts on ““If I had a chance for another try, I wouldn’t change a thing. It’s made me all who I am inside.” -Angels and Airwaves

  1. gm1123 says:

    I tend to switch from the past to the future…and both get you nowhere. I am presently trying, one damn day at a time, to stay-mind, body, soul-in the now. Cuz it’s all I’ve got. It is one of the hardest things to do. I have to check myself often. It is a choice to be happy or to hang on to old things that we wished we hadn’t done. I’ve only recently in the last year or so let go of mistakes I’ve made. They bog you down and you are a prisoner of your own mind. I chose, today, to be as happy as I can. And I’m so thankful for that choice. 🙂

    1. vino4 says:

      I think you have a great approach. You hit the nail on the head when you said we can’t hang on to old things we wish we hadn’t done. After all, there’s nothing you can do about it. All you can do is move on and adjust your life to make yourself happy. Great comment!!

  2. juliecrombe says:

    Loves quotes of songs!
    Please check out my blog and let’s maybe follow each other!
    http://prettylittletreasures.wordpress.com
    xo

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

