End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

This past week has been an absolute blur. It was my first week back at college and to say that I have never been busier doesn’t even begin to describe it. I’ve been running around to meetings and events, just trying to remember where it is that I have to be after I’m done doing what I’m doing. And so, like an ostrich with it’s head cut off (no, not a chicken) I’ve been frantically bouncing from place to place, attempting to demonstrate some sort of punctuality and sanity.

Even though I’ve been doing a gazillion things every day, I seem to be keeping my head above water. I’m handling the tasks and completing my duties as I need to. At the end of the day, I never find myself saying, “Holy crap, I don’ think I can do this.”. Instead, I say to myself, “Ok, today was one hell of a day, but I got through it just fine.”. Despite being out-of-my-mind busy, I’m remaining an effective person. I can still function like a normal human being. Ok, semi-normal.

As the initial craziness begins to simmer, I’ve realized what has gotten me through this first circle of hell. Really, there’s only one thing that anyone can do to handle a booming, bustling lifestyle. You have to organize.

This may be a bit blunt, but if you don’t have some sort of structure to your day, some sort of schedule or plan,you’re going to fail. Without any idea of what your tasks are, there isn’t a sliver of hope that anything will be accomplished. The only way you can be successful is to plan and organize. Organize, organize, organize. It’s the only way that you can maintain control.

Everyone does it a little bit differently. Some people make a to do list, some people have a personal planner, some people tie strings to their fingers, some people use post-it notes, and some people even have fancy schmancy cell phones that they can keep an entire calendar on. The point is that, no matter how you do it, organizing is an awesome way to get things done, no matter how busy you are.

Maybe you don’ believe me. You’re not buying what I’m selling, you’re not smelling what I’m stepping in. If you don’t, that’s fine. Totally cool. But, how do you think some of the most successful people in the world go to where they are? What, you don’t think that those people have a ton of stuff to do every single day? You don’t think that those people are the masters of organization, the epitome of planning? They definitely are and they definitely do some of the things that I listed so that they can accomplish the oh so many tasks that they have before them. They plan. They organize.

Today’s kwote says it perfectly. If you don’t organize your life, it’s going to be hell. Everything is going to pile up until it’s completely overwhelming. The things you had to do before, of which there seemed to be many, will only continue to grow. Tasks don’t just go away while you sit on your butt and eat chex mix. You have to be proactive. You have to plan ahead. You have to be organized.

There are tons of ways to do it. All you have to do is find one that works for you. Find that one method that lets you fly above the storm. Once you do, your odds of success are much, much higher. You’ll be a much more comfortable and a much happier person.

So, stay organized. If you don’t, you’re probably going to resort to very serious narcotics to get you through life. And that’s generally not a very good strategy. Don’t become a cracked out, unorganized, crazy person. Buy a planner, make some check lists, and use a calendar. Like our loving parents always seem to tell us, start acting like an adult. You can still watch cartoons and play video games, but just make sure to pencil it in.

Bottom line, be organized. Instead of drifting through life, steer. Steer around every corner, over every bump, and through every stretch of fog. Structure your life so that you never lose your way. And always remember, “To be in hell is to drift; to be in heaven is to steer.”

End Kwote

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

