End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

I’m not entirely sure why, but constructing a blog post was really frustrating today. Really, really frustrating. Like almost put my fist through my computer screen, scream at the top of my lungs while jumping up and down on a table in the library frustrating. My computer was being slow, I couldn’t find any good kwotes, people were talking in the background (how dare they), and I couldn’t make my fingers tap out any words that didn’t sound like shit.I just couldn’t do it. Every time I tried to write something, it sounded like poo. I was at a loss for what to write about, and pissed off that I wasn’t going to formulate a post for the day.

But, then I had an epiphany. I usually write about something that I’m feeling, or going through, so why not write about the frustration that was driving me to insanity? Really, there wasn’t anything else that I could have written about given my current pissed offness. The only problem is that there weren’t really any great kwotes about frustration. So, I was left with only one source. Myself.

And so, the theme for today’s post, if you haven’t already guessed, is that frustration sucks.

It happens to all of us. For those humans like me that call themselves writers, it’s called writers block. You have an idea of what you want to put down on paper, but the words get all clogged up in your brain. It’s kind of like all of the words in your head are waiting in line to get out, but one asshole word is holding up the entire line because it can’t figure out which way to go. That one word is keeping all of the other words from reaching the paper. Just one, tiny word. If that doesn’t frustrate you, then you have some serious mental issues. But, I’m pretty sure that writers block frustrates just about everyone.

Frustration doesn’t only come in the form of writers block. There are zillions of ways that frustration manifests itself. Maybe you play baseball and even though you take hours upon hours of batting practice every day, you’ve struck out in nine of your last ten at bats. Maybe you like math and you’ve been working on the same math problem all day and tried fifty different ways of solving it, but the answer still evades you. Maybe you just have a bad day. You sleep through your alarm, get to class late, your teacher yells at you in front of the entire class, everyone laughs at you, you get super upset and distraught, you forget to turn in your homework because your super upset and distraught, you get a bad grade, your bad grade pisses you off, your parents yell at you for getting a bad grade which takes you to a whole new level of pissed off, and…I think you get the point.

Being frustrated, angry, upset is a common occurrence. It happens all the time. But, continuing to be frustrated, getting angrier and more upset, only makes matters worse.

If you’re ever frustrated, for any reason at all, the best thing you can do is to stop everything that you’re doing. Put down whatever work you’re doing, whatever task your trying to complete, and clear your head. Forget about everything for a second and just take a deep breath. Clear your brain of all the gunk and garbage that’s stopping it from working at full capacity. Tell yourself to calm down, collect your thoughts, and start working with a fresh mind. The only way to get rid of frustration is to stop fueling it, and the only way to fuel it is to keep going about things in a way that’s not productive.

So, take a break. Relax for just a few minutes. You’ll feel much better after you stop beating your head against the metaphorical brick wall that has “frustration” graffitied on it in massive, white letters. Try not to let your emotions get the best of you. Chill out, listen to your favorite song, or do whatever you need to do to bring yourself back down to earth. Being pissed is never a good way to accomplish anything.

Don’t be pissed. Be happy. Find something that calms you down, and keep that thing with you so that you can use it when you get all “Hulk smash!” angry. No one likes to be angry. No one likes to be upset. No one likes to feel that feeling when you just can’t do something. No one likes to be frustrated. Why? Because frustration sucks.

End Kwote

3 thoughts on ““Frustration sucks.” -Me

  1. This is cool! I like your description of writer’s block. Some people misidentify it as an absence of ideas. But I agree, it feels more like a jumbled mess of words vying for a spot on the (web)page.

    I had a similar experience earlier today. There was a single fly in the room. The AC was broke. And the computer and workspace were both foreign to me. I nearly snapped, but eventually collected myself. And I, too, was able to my complete my work.

    Yay us for overcoming frustration!

    1. vino4 says:

      Thank you! I tend to like this analogy because I feel like once that one word finally frees itself, the rest flood out behind it. I’m glad to hear that you unblocked yourself! It can be a bit tough, but it’s always a good feeling when you so. Thanks for reading!

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

