End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

When you start to grow up, everyone asks you the same question. Over and over again, without fail, people ask you, “So, what do you want to do?”. I’ve answered that question so many times that I barely even pay attention to what I’m saying when I spit out my answer. It actually gets pretty annoying. Usually, like a robot, I say, “Yeah, I’m a kind of journalism major, so I would like to do something with writing, but I’m really just keeping my options open.”.

What I really want to say is, “Listen asshole, I DO NOT FREAKING KNOW. I’m nineteen years old, I’m trying to have a little bit of fun while I still can, I’m just worried about getting good grades, and I haven’t the slightest clue how I’m going to apply any of my skills. So just stop asking me the same damn question.”. And if you’re at all like me, I’m sure you have a similar response concocted in your brain that you wish you could scream in the face of every forty-year old that asks.

Yes, it’s kind of a distressing thought. What do I want to do? How am I going to make a living when I get out of college? How am I going to survive? How am I going to make money?. Sure, I get good grades and I work pretty damn hard, but what if that’s not enough? What if I don’t find a job? What if I don’t make money? What if I fail?. These are all questions that bounce around in the heads of college students everywhere. The worrisome, woeful questions about whether or not we can succeed in life.

I think about it all the time. But, even though I think about it, I still have no idea of what I want to do. I’m still drawing a blank, waiting for the answer to hit me in the face like well-delivered bitch slap.

I’m worried about finding a job after college. I’m scared that I won’t make it. But, I always keep one thing in mind. No matter what I do, no matter where I end up, no matter what path I chose to take, I will always be doing something that I love.</em

It’s not a matter of success or failure, but a matter of happiness or dissatisfaction. If you love what you do, it won’t matter how much money you make or how successful you are. Your success should be measured in terms of happiness. How happy are you to be doing what you do? Do you hate doing your job? Does your job completely suck? Can you put your heart and soul into your work? You should ask yourself all of these things. You should decide for yourself. Do you want to be happy? Or do you want to be unsatisfied?

Sometimes work isn’t going to be barrels of fun. That’s the nature of work. But, if you can look yourself in the mirror at the end of the day and say to yourself, “What I’m doing makes me happy” then you’re on the right track. Don’t lose sight of where you are because it seems to me that you’re in a pretty good spot. Keep doing what gives you that full feeling in your chest. Keep doing what makes you feel good. Keep doing what makes you happy.

So, instead of asking yourself, “What am I going to do?”, ask yourself, “What can I do that makes me happy?”. For me, the latter is a much better question. As Rumi has so eloquently put it, “Let the beauty of what you love be what you do.”.

What are your thoughts on doing what you love? What makes you happy? What do you love to do? I know, I’m a very scary, intimidating figure, but don’t be afraid to let me know. I’m always interested to hear the thoughts of my fellow humans

End Kwote

One thought on ““Let the beauty of what you love be what you do.” -Rumi

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

