End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

“A day without sunshine is like, you know, night.”

So I dug into the archives of End Kwote, and I found this little piece. This one’s from way back from the infant days of End Kwote. It seems like a few of my interweb compadres have been viewing this post lately, so I thought I’d re-post it to let everyone take a gander.

It’s a smidge cheesy (it’s actually cheesier than a bag of off-brand cheese doodles), and I’ve revamped it a little, but I still think it’s got a good message

I hope you enjoy

I know, at first glance this quote may seem like it doesn’t have any subliminal messages or deeper meanings. Well, if that were true, (which it isn’t) I wouldn’t be writing this post. Although these wise words of comic genius Steve Martin may not have been intended to be interpreted as I’m about to interpret them, I would like to offer my two and a half cents as to what lesson Mr. Martin is inadvertently trying to teach us.

Everybody loves sunshine. Well I suppose a vampire wouldn’t be a raving fan, but I think you get my point. Most people enjoy being in, looking at, or in some way experiencing the sun’s rays.

So, being the ever-inquisitive, philosophically inclined person that I am, I ask myself, “What’s that giant ball of fire really mean? What does that thing represent?”

Let’s ponder.

Sunshine represents happiness, enjoyment, warmth, and, of course, summer-time and all the amazing things that accompany it. Sunshine creates light, which, for us, represents clarity, and certainty. Light also does this funny thing where it shows you where you’re going. Weird, I know…

We like the sun! Without it, we would have to tunnel into the earth and become those creatures from that movie The Time Machine. The ones that look like they’re half silver-back gorilla and half human with a dash of warthog (don’t forget the twist of lemon). And no one wants that…

…well, maybe you do. If that’s the case, go ahead and stop reading…

One of the sad facts of life is that we won’t get to experience sunshine every single day. Sometimes it’s cloudy, sometimes we get sick and have to stay inside all day, and sometimes a giant meteor blots out the sun’s rays.

But, you don’t need to sun to experience sunshine. I know, mind-blowing. Just bare with me.

Everyone has something that really makes them happy. Something that, more than anything, can make them smile no matter what. Ask yourself, “What is that one thing for me? What, without fail, makes me happy?”. It could be a certain song you like to hear, a picture you like to look at, a particular poem you like to recite…a person you like to punch…

Take a second and chose your one thing. Got it?

Well folks, you just made your own sunshine…

YOU’RE WELCOME

…sorry…

But seriously, whatever that one thing that you chose is, whatever makes you the happiest, represents all of the same things that the sunshine represents. Happiness, enjoyment, warmth, all of that stuff. Everyone’s got that one thing that brightens up their day. Everyone’s got their own sunshine.

So, my advice to you is to find whatever brings you happiness no matter what the circumstance. Find what makes you smile and feel that ever so cliché warm, fuzzy feeling inside. Find your own sunshine. Don’t let a day go by in which you don’t experience your it in some way, shape, or form. Don’t let your life be filled with anxiety and darkness.

Sometimes, you just gotta make your own sunshine.

As our good friend Steve has said, “A day without sunshine is like, you know, night”.

End Kwote

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

