End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Well, I’m sitting here watching The Wedding Singer with my sis and my Mum. Maybe it’s something about Adam Sandler’s irresistible charm and wit, but I’m in a particularly ponderous mood.

I’m reading a couple of different blogs, marveling at some spectacular content. I’m perusing some posts that are more laughable than a peg-leg and, even though it’s tough to stomach, wittier than Adam Sandler. The sites I visit on a regular basis make me shake my head and ask myself, “Why in Zeus’ name can’t I be as popular as these virtual virtuosos? What am I doing wrong? Why am I hated so?!”

Of course, I’m being a tad over-dramatic. For the amount of time that I’ve been blogging, I’ve done alright, and I don’t think too many people hate me. I’m no creative genius, and I know that many of my posts wouldn’t make great cat pajamas, but I put a fair amount of work into this little chunk of the blogosphere.

Actually, I put a lot of work into it. It’s worth it though, seeing as my blog is my most favorite thing ever. More favoritter than like, air…

But the question remains; why am I not raking in swaths of likes and vats of views?

The main reason is that I haven’t been a blog-citizen (blogitizen? blitizen?) long enough to have a huge amount of popularity. Building a readership takes time, and time needs to, ya know, pass. I can’t very well speed it up, so all I can do is keep on blogging and wait. I have to put in my hours like all the other successful blitizens.

There are a number of answers to this question. Maybe I’m not marketing my blog as effectively as I could, maybe I’m not blogging about stuff that’s neato, maybe my blog is a massive glob of poo. Any of these reasons, and countless others, could be the answer. Which is the central reason for my lack of popularity? I’ll never know.

But asking myself these questions raises yet another, very important question. What am I doing here? Why am I blogging? What’s the point? All good questions, kimosabi. Be patient, and I will answer.

Yes, when I look at other, sickeningly successful blogs, I get a smidge jealous. Honestly, who wouldn’t? When the little “Like” star has more than 50 clicks, I squint my right eyeball, clench my fist, and mutter curse words in my Tony Soprano voice. As a blogger, I want that. I want people to read my blog. I want people to like my blog. It’s only human nature.

But, after thinking for a while, I remembered the real reason why I started on this interweb endeavor.

I started this blog because I wanted to write. I started this blog because I love to write. I started this blog because I wanted to learn about myself. I started this blog to do something cool. I started this blog because I wanted to give people a glimpse into my life and show them my weird, inspirational, and unique point of view.

I didn’t go through all the gobbledygook of creating this site to become the coolest kid on the block or to gain a mega-faithful cult of readers. I didn’t start it with likes or followers in mind. Those things are certainly nice, but they’re only the whipped-topping on top of the blog pie. They’re a bonus, an extra. I like when my statistics improve because that’s a sign that I’m not just a babbling arse-wipe. But, in the end, the likes aren’t atop the list of why I embarked on my journey as a blitizen.

I blog because I enjoy it. I blog because it feels good to get out the stuff that scrambles around in my brain. I blog because I can say stuff that would otherwise put me in a sanitarium like that poor bastard from the second season of American Horror Story who had aliens probe his bum. I blog because it’s fun.

I care about what my readers think. I want them to be entertained. That’s a part of my reason for being here. But it doesn’t consume me. That would make me shallow. That would make me hollow. Kind of like this honey-bear that I’m staring at right this very second.

"blehh I suck.."

“blehh I suck..”

At the end of the day, I wouldn’t be doing this if I didn’t like it. I wouldn’t be doing this if it didn’t make me feel good. That would be, in the words of Kierkegaard, really stupid.

So, thanks to those awesome blogs that made me remember why I’m here in the first place.

Now stop being so damn good…

End Kwote

This post was inspired by the friendly blitizen at humansareweird.com

2 thoughts on “What’s the Point?

  1. The Cutter says:

    As someone who has done a “Why aren’t I more popular?” post, sadly there’s no real answer. My popularity seems to wane, and I can’t always figure out why. But keep writing for yourself, put in a little work to get your name out there, and more views and likes will come your way.

  2. I agree 100%! You shouldn’t do something because of the perks, you should do something because you truly love to do it. I believe that if you love something enough, your hard work will eventually pay off.

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

