End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

“…things change. And friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody.”

I just read this great book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It’s been around for a while. I’m actually kind of ashamed of myself because I didn’t read it earlier. But my sister got it for me as a Christmas present, and I read it in about a day and a half.

I was reading it in a coffee shop one day, and an old friend walked in. We said hello, hugged, and talked about what we were doing with our lives. After a few minutes of very pleasant conversation, the friend she was meeting came, and it was time for us to say goodbye.

I was remarking on how it had been so long since I’d seen her. I couldn’t even remember the last time. When I went to say goodbye, I said, “I’ll see you…well, I dunno when.”

She smiled, laughed, and said, “Yeah, I’ll see you in a year.”

She went with her friend and sat at another table. I read on.

As I was reading, I came to this kwote. It’s the one you see above. In case you overlooked it, here it is again.

“…things change. And friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody.”

It was sort of in the middle of the page, but it was so striking that I stopped reading all together. I stopped and thought.

That’s very true.

Things change. People make plans. Plans of their own that change their lives. Plans that change who they are as people. Plans that define their futures. Their interests change, their goals change, their personalities change. Who you once knew is different, and that can be good, or it can be bad.

Friends leave. Your friends from high school go to college. Your friends from college go to grad school, or get jobs. Whatever the case may be, the people who you’re close with go away. You do your best to stay in touch, but after a while, it gets tough. And you talk less and less. And you forget. You become distant. So distant that you get lost. So distant that your friends really, truly leave.

Life doesn’t stop for anybody.Your friends leave, and that really sucks. You feel alone. Frustrated even. But it doesn’t matter. There’s no pause button. There’s no way to sit back and think about what’s going on. Life just keeps moving. You get older. Shit happens. Life happens. It doesn’t slow down just because the people you knew are suddenly gone. It just keeps moving.

I know there’s nothing I can do about any of this. It just is. I do my best not to think about it and to enjoy the people who are with me here and now.

But it’s hard to shut out completely. When will I see my friend from the coffee shop again? A year? Two? Longer? Maybe I won’t see her again. I used to see her pretty much every day. And she disappeared, essentially. Instantly, too. One day, we both just left. It was as simple as that. We didn’t say goodbye. We didn’t say good luck. It just happened.

That’s hard to digest. It’s kind of cruel, really. We make bonds only to have them broken. We know they’ll be broken, but we make them anyway. Because that’s all we can do. And that’s very sad.

What happens when I graduate? What happens when I move away? What happens when I move again? And what happens to all the other people who lose their friends? How does that impact them? How does that impact their lives? What do we do when the only people we have change, or go away?

I ask, but I know the answer. I guess I’m hoping for something brighter.

If you have a more sun-shiny answer, I hope you’ll share. And if you have some insight, some advice, or something to say about the matter, I’d love to hear. I certainly don’t have it all figured out.

Hopefully I haven’t depressed you entirely. If I have, go eat a cookie, drink some milk, sing a happy song, and tell your best friends that you love them.

Until next time.

End Kwote

5 thoughts on “Life Doesn’t Stop for Anybody

  1. Shit. Well that sucks, doesn’t it? I read this book in the beginning of last year, but it seems like I need to read it again because that quote should have struck at me as well.

    “We make bonds only to have them broken.” I feel like you have it all down. There really is no answer or insight to what you’ve written because everything you write is true. I could be all happy and sunshiney (no pun intended) and tell you it’s not always like this, but it is. Trust me though when I say this- you are not the only one to experience this pain. I’ve constantly attacked myself and asked the same questions- why do people leave? Why do people stop keeping in touch? Is it me? Is it them? But in the end, it boils down to this- life doesn’t stop for anybody, and it sure as hell shouldn’t stop for you either.

    The only thing thing I can say is, there will always be that one or two true friends who will be by your side forever. The others? They will leave footprints in your heart and hopefully their impact will be with you forever.

    1. End Kwote says:

      It seems like you’ve got it nailed down, too. I think it jumped out at me cause I’m experiencing it right now. But yes, life doesn’t stop, and them’s the facts. We just have to do our best to not be gloomy and doomy, even though it’s hard.

      And you’re right, true friends will always be there no matter what. Those are a bit tough to come by, though.

      Thanks for the read and for the great comment.

  2. The Cutter says:

    Life sure does change. I have close friends who I haven’t seen in years. It just happens.

    1. End Kwote says:

      I feel ya. I’m only 20 and I’m already experiencing it

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

