End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

“Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones” –Marcus Aurelius

I’m not religious. I don’t even pretend to be. I’m not kinda sorta religious, I don’t dabble in religion, and I don’t go to any type of church service. At this point in my life, that’s just the way things are.

What am I you ask? Well, I haven’t a clue. It’s not something I think about much. I’m just trying to live my life and be a good guy. Trying not to be a complete ass.

That’s what this kwote gets at. Well, Marcus put it a bit better than I, but the meaning is the same.

If there is a God that is just, or gods that are just, or whatever, then shouldn’t being a good person be enough? Shouldn’t being kind, and genuine, and true satisfy the supreme being? What more can someone ask for? Be nice to the people around you, be generous whenever you can, and care about things other than yourself.

Assuming that the pearly gates exist, do I need to go to church to be let through them? Do I need to study the Bible or some other religious text to be accepted into heaven? Do I need to devote my life to my religion to move on to a blissful afterlife? Do I need to worship a higher being to save my soul from the depths? Should I be damned because I don’t pray every day? Should I, or you, or anyone else be damned because we don’t go to church?

No, we shouldn’t.

Being a truly good, kind person should be satisfactory to God or whoever/whatever decides our fates after we die. Being caring and concerned about other people should be enough.

And if you think there is no God or whatever (which is totally fine), well, it doesn’t really matter then does it? But you should still live a good life. For your friends, for the people you’re close to. For your loved ones. You should live a good life for them because that’s how they’ll remember you.

The bottom line is that no matter what the deal is with God or whoever/whatever you wana call it, you should be a good person. You should live a good life. Be nice to one another.

Do good things. Don’t be an ass.

Please, feel free to comment. I don’t claim to know everything about this subject, so your thoughts are appreciated. I realize that this may be slightly controversial, so if you wana bash my face in via digital conversation, I don’t mind. Bash away, if you dare.

End Kwote

4 thoughts on “End Kwote on Religion: Don’t Be an Ass

  1. The Cutter says:

    You’d think that bring a religious person and being a good person would go hand in hand, but that doesn’t seem to be the case as often as it should

    1. End Kwote says:

      Very good point. Just showing up for church doesn’t help if you’re an arsehole

  2. jkinney91 says:

    I want to start by saying that I am quite sorry about the length. and I appreciate what you have said in this, but I being a Christian think that you are sorely wrong. because as a man who believes in a just god that desires for his creation to love and serve him and strive to be holy as he is holy.

    I agree with you that we need to live a good life, but what type of good life? a life where I put people and their needs in front of my own, or just being a thoughtful person. I want to know what is there to live for without faith? what is your life without God? I believe that we should live a good life, but at what costs? am I willing to give everything to my fellow man? I hope so, but I really do not know. if we are just living life to live it well then from my standpoint it is a life poorly lived. I don’t believe that I have to go to church every Sunday, or pray every day to get to heaven. but I do believe that I should be putting god first in my life. I do believe that God is just, but I also believe that he wants all of his creation to go to heaven. because that is what is deducible from his character (if he is a truly loving god). but at the same time if he is truly loving then he wont reward us without some sacrifice, without something from us. for example, do you eat the cookie first, or wait till after the meal when the cookie is that much better. why would it be just to say you lived in a broken sinful world where you lived a good life. then would God really be just?

    I also want to say that as a Christian I have never been able to hear first hand the worldview that you are proclaiming. so I just want to say thank you for your honesty.

    1. End Kwote says:

      I appreciate the comment and I’m glad I have someone with a different viewpoint who’s paying attention.

      Living a good life is a lot of the things you mentioned: being thoughtful, putting others before myself, and sacrificing. I try to incorporate all of those things, and many more positive aspects, into my life. I try to be a good person through doing for others and treating others with respect.

      The point of my post is that, if I’m a good person, if I do all of the things that you mention, then why does it matter if I go to church? Why does it matter if I pray? Why should it matter that my faith isn’t strong? I’m a good person regardless. I do all the things that you say God wants us to do.

      If I’m a genuinely good person, does God not appreciate me for that? Is being a kind person not enough?

      You should also know that I don’t claim that God doesn’t exist. But I also have no idea if he does exist (technically making me an agnostic). I suppose that sort of gets to the heart of why I wrote this post in the first place.

      Thanks very much for the read. I was hoping someone with an opposite viewpoint would see this and give me their thoughts. I hope that, if you ever see anything else on my site that you disagree with, that you’ll tell me your opinion.

      Thanks again.

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

