End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

I look up at the stars,
Yeah I know that’s cliché,
But it’s hard to make sense of it any other way.
Because any other way is harder to tell the difference
Between persistence and insanity.
I guess that’s zemblanity.
And if you don’t know what that means, look it up, because it changed my life.

So I sit there, fistful of cares,
Or maybe they’re regrets or bad luck.
Or fuck-ups.
But it doesn’t really matter.
Because it’s done and over.
And if you haven’t learned that lesson yet, learn quick, because it changed my life.

Whether something’s up there or not
Doesn’t really change my mood,
I’m just there for the food like everybody else.
It tastes good and it’s satisfying.
There’s no sense in denying my hunger, even if I should.
And if you haven’t come to that conclusion yet, get there, because it changed my life.

I stare until I’m full
Of thoughts for tomorrow.
My problems aren’t all gone now,
But at least I’ve weighed them down,
Made it harder for them to catch me.
And if you haven’t tried that yet, you should, because it changed my life.

I’ll smoke a little bit,
Yes, I know it’s bad for me.
But if it’s pros versus cons,
Or life versus death, literally,
I’ll chose what makes me more happy.
And if you haven’t done that at least once, please do, because it changed my life.

The night ends with advice in my pocket.
“Take more chances, go after it if you want it.”
I’ll take that to heart, and in the moment I smile,
Because, for a little while, I feel like it’s all ok.
I should probably take that advice someday.

I should probably take that advice someday.

Because it could change my life.

End Kwote

 

4 thoughts on “It Changed My Life

  1. stefangray says:

    This is amazing. Had me thinking. You’re a prolific writer! Cheers!

    1. End Kwote says:

      Thanks very much! Glad you liked it

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Good advice for a lot of us…in due time.

    1. End Kwote says:

      I’m still working on it all myself. Easier said than done I suppose

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

