End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

I saw you today. I’ve loved you for so long and you don’t even have a clue. I’ve loved you from the first day I saw you. In short blue-jean shorts riding just above your waste. You were so beautiful. And I saw you and said, “Wow.”

I saw you today and it reminded me of that time. You were every bit as beautiful and ten miles more. I can’t even type the words without repeating myself a hundred times. There are a lot of ways to dance around it, but there’s only one way to say it; I was put here for you. And you’re so beautiful. In a way that makes the background black and white and you’re body shine like gold in the water. You hadn’t changed. And I hadn’t stopped loving you.

I saw you today and I remembered the time that you kissed me and I died. I left a part of myself there so I could relive it as many times as I wanted. But you kissed me and you meant it, and I meant it, and it was amazing. You were so free and so wild. You were you. And you kissed me once.

I saw you today, and you looked at me. You smiled and told me a story. A story about how my laugh makes you feel significant. And I don’t know if it was a compliment, but I sure as hell took it as one. My laugh makes you feel like you’re important. My voice rings with my heart. It’s true.

I saw you today. And you told me I made you feel better.

And you looked at me.

And you smiled.

And I looked at you.

And I smiled.

And it meant absolutely nothing.

And it was beautiful.


Many times, I try really, really hard to create vivid images with my writing. When it comes to detail, I think I’m a “if some is good, more is better” type of guy.

But, too much detail isn’t always a good thing. Sometimes simplicity says much more than complexity.

That’s why I chose to post this piece. It’s one of the very few things that I’ve written that I didn’t try to decorate too much. If nothing else, it reminded me not to think too much when I’m writing. Hopefully it did the same for you.

If it didn’t make you think about your writing style at all, I hope you at least enjoyed reading it.

If you didn’t even enjoy reading it, well, piss off.

And I mean that in the kindest possible way.

In all seriousness, I hope you enjoyed this piece. Until next time.

End Kwote

5 thoughts on “I Saw You Today

  1. hipsterczar says:

    I certainly did! Well done

  2. wellslegacy says:

    Despite this having such a personal aspect to it, I seriously really enjoyed this piece. It’s relatable and I think you did a great job with detail.The ending lines, especially, were the ones that really stuck.
    Wonderful.

    1. End Kwote says:

      Thank you! I was debating whether or not to post this because it is a bit more on the personal side. I’m glad you liked it, though. Thanks for the read

      1. wellslegacy says:

        You’re welcome [: That’s the beauty of writing, in my eyes. No problem!

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

