End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

“For I know the plans I have for you; plans to give you hope and a future.” 

-Jeremiah 29:11

I don’t fancy myself too religious. I guess I’m at that stage in my life where that sort of thing finds its way to the backseat. That being said, there are some pretty cool things that come from religious texts or resources.

Like that one book. The Bible.

So I was in a talk the other day and the speaker, a nun (who also happens to be the President of the university I attend), spoke about the kwote above. In or out of the context she discussed the kwote, it’s very eloquent. Being so fancy-schmancy, it struck me. At first, I thought it meant that fate exists. I thought that it meant that God has a plan for us. A very specific (and apparently hopeful) plan that dictates our futures.

But, upon further pondering, I’m wondering if that’s what this kwote really means.

Literally, the kwote says that God has “…plans to give you hope and a future.” So, according to the kwote, God does have plans for a future. But, in my opinion, the key word in the kwote is “a.” And as you let the irony of a word so small being the key word in the sentence, think about this; the kwote doesn’t say, “I have the future planned,” it says, “I have a future planned.” What exactly happens in this future that the good Lord’s talkin’ about isn’t specified. To me, it seems like it’s open to our influence. It seems like we decide where we go and what our future holds, and God’s role is to make sure that the future simply exists and is hopeful.

But those are just my thoughts. Really, I’d like to know what you think.

What does the kwote mean to you? What’s your interpretation?

Do you believe in fate? Is that a thing? Or do we all fly by the seats of our pantaloons and decide our own futures?

Fifty gold dabloons to all ye who answer!

But seriously, thoughts and ideas are appreciated. Like I said, I’m not very religious, so I don’t pretend to know exactly what I’m talking about. I just have an opinion based on what I feel, so if some of you have differing opinions based on different feelings, facts, or information, I’d love to hear what’s on your mind.

End Kwote

4 thoughts on “A Fate Debate

  1. djmatticus says:

    I agree with your interpretation. He has a plan… but, that doesn’t mean we have to go along with it. We have the ability to choose our own path. It may not be as nice as they one he had planned for us, but, that’s all part of the human experience.

    1. End Kwote says:

      Precisely. Not only do I totally agree, but I think that’s a more favorable view of the whole fate thing

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I think I agree with your interpretation. Free will is always in play, and every decision impacts the next, no matter how major or minute.

    1. End Kwote says:

      Well said. I know this is a commonly debated topic, but I definitely agree with you

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

