End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

So let me just start off this post by saying I GOT A TATTOO AND IT’S FREAKIN AWESOME AND I LOVE IT AND IT’S THE COOLEST THING EVER.

Just had to get that out of my system. But I actually did get a tattoo. One that I think is very cool and very meaningful.

Look! There it is!!

IMG_20140717_203503

Pretty nifty, right?

You’re probably wondering what it even means and why I decided to have it permanently inked on my chest. Allow me to explain.

The word I got a tattoo of is “creo” which means “I create” in Italian. I decided to get that word on my chest because it carries a couple of meanings.

First, and most obviously, it applies to my writing. One of the main reasons I write is because it allows me to create things that weren’t there before. I can create people, places, times, and things, and I can make them however I want them to be. That feeling of creation is one that I find very enjoyable and very satisfying. My tattoo reminds me of my love for creation and that I should always strive to be as creative as I can be.

But, the word means more than just creation in a creative writing sense. It means creation in terms of my life. I always do my best to create opportunities and success for myself by working hard and applying my skills. I know that almost nothing in life is handed to me, so I have to go out and create my own path, create my own way to happiness and prosperity. Creation isn’t only about being artsy and crafty, it’s about working hard to shape my future.

That type of creating isn’t only about my self. It’s also about the lives of my future family and loved ones. I know that my family will, in some way, depend on me to create good lives for them. They’ll rely on me to do my duty as a father or a husband or a whatever to lay the brick for their futures and their lives. Not only am I creating a happy and prosperous life for myself, but I’m also doing it for others, namely my family and the ones I love.

I could go on and on about how the Italian word for “I create” can apply to my life and what I do with it, but these are the main points that pushed me to get the ink in the first place.

If you’re wondering why the word is in Italian, it’s because my heritage is largely Italian (my last name is Bevevino, which I guess kinda sorta sounds a wee bit Mediterranean).

You might also be asking yourself, “Hey, if that picture up there is in a mirror, why can I read it? Shouldn’t it be all backwards? Shouldn’t the word be in reverse? What’s the deal with that?” Well, those are fine questions. But, with patience, kimosabi, come answers.

I actually got the word tattooed on myself in a mirror image precisely so I could read it correctly in the mirror. My thought process there was that the tattoo is for me, not for anyone else. It’s my body after all. So why should I get a tattoo that I’ll never be able to read? Why should I be the one who has to see it in reverse? I shouldn’t have to awkwardly squinch my chin to my chest to see what I endured excruciating pain to have written on my body. So, now I can read it just fine. And it still looks pretty damn cool in reverse. See?

2014-07-19 14.29.46

So there’s the story behind my tat. I think it’s pretty cool, and I’m extremely happy with how it turned out.

Do you have any tattoos? If yes, do they have some kind of meaning behind them? Do you want a tattoo? What do you want to get? Why would you get it? These are the things I ponder in my spare time. Please, help to cease my pondering and share with me your thoughts and stories.

Many thanks.

End Kwote

Here are some more pictures of me getting tattooed in case you were wondering what that whole process is like
20140717_171103

20140717_172555

20140717_172755

20140717_173836

12 thoughts on “I Create: My Tattoo

  1. MissFit says:

    p.s. is your name really Bevevino? Translated to : “drink wine” ?? my heritage is Calabria , Italy. A name like that would give me a better reason for red wine habit 🙂

    1. End Kwote says:

      That’s where my family is from!! And yes that really is my last name haha

      1. MissFit says:

        Oh I love it! I think it’s absolutely awesome :))

  2. MissFit says:

    i am getting my first one on Aug 15th this year. such a great article, from both an insightful and practical vantage! the mirror idea is awesome. perfectly done, i couldn’t agree more with your sentiments.

    1. End Kwote says:

      Thank you so much!!

  3. djmatticus says:

    Nice!
    I’ve always wanted one… or, rather, I’ve always liked the idea of getting one, but in my fleeting obsessions I could never hang onto anything with meaning that would still resonate when I’m 80.
    Though, if the Queen were game, I would get our wedding bands tattooed without any hesitation. Sadly, she is not game for such shenanigans.

    1. End Kwote says:

      Totally understandable. I had to think really long and really hard about what I wanted. But I would tell anyone who’s unsure not to get one.

      Maybe someday! I know some folks get the date of their anniversaries tattooed somewhere. But I understand your situation

      1. djmatticus says:

        In high school I would have gotten something to do with soccer. In college, it would have been something to do with music (I envisioned a turntable on one shoulder with beats of a song pouring across to the other). Now it would be something writing related, right? Or, to do with my family? Or the mountains I love? And in five years what would it be? I could ink every inch of me with the passions I have had and will have over the course of my life… an artistic representation of my memories. Doesn’t sound too terrible… but, then I think of myself at 80 and wonder how much of it will matter to me then? How much will I even remember? So, the longing remains but logic keeps me from going through with any of them.
        That doesn’t keep me from tipping my hat to those who are brave enough to get some ink. I like “creo,” I like what it means to you, and I like that you got it in reverse so you can see it properly in the mirror.

  4. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I love the explanation for the actual word and placement!

    I do not have any…yet. I want to get one for my 40th birthday (less than 3years,gulp!) mine will be an upper arm piece, mainly flowers but incorporating a memorial to my grandmother within it.

    1. End Kwote says:

      Thanks!

      Your idea sounds awesome. Can’t wait to hear about/see it

  5. I have four small tattoos and three of them have meanings to them lol. The one on my upper back shoulder blade is baby blocks with my triplets initials and banner with their bday and the lucky 7, since they were born on the 7th day, 7th month on my pregnancy and at the 7th hour. The one on my rib cage is the word strength in Chinese and a semi heart, which means strength comes from the heart. And the last one, is the initials of my best friend who passed away suddenly on my finger. I love the way your tattoo came out and the placement of it and the story behind it is soooo cool 🙂 👍👍👍

    1. End Kwote says:

      Those all sound so cool! Very nice decisions in my opinion.

      Thank you! I’m just happy it’s something I can be happy about instead of regret

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

