End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

I got excited today when I got one of the little trophy notifications from WordPress. If you use WordPress often, you know that having one of those pop up on your screen gives you a feeling unlike any other. It means you’ve achieved something, that your blog has reached some sort of milestone.

Today, that notification told me that End Kwote is exactly one year old. And I think that’s pretty damn cool.

And trippy.

Being such a cool trip, I thought I’d do a little recap of where I’ve been and what I’ve done with my blog. Many of you who read End Kwote regularly may not be familiar with what it used to be like, so, if you’d allow me, I’ll take you on a little journey through End Kwote past.

July 23, 2013: I created End Kwote! The original format of my blog was that I would find kwotes (quotes) and write about my take on them. They could be quotes from famous people or quotes that I heard during my everyday life. But in the beginning, I was only in the business of kwotes. Nothing else. Fun fact: I originally wanted to call my site End Quote, but that name was already taken. So, End Kwote, though it wasn’t my first choice, became part of my shtick.

July 25, 2013: I wrote my first post. I started this whole thing with a piece about Walter Sobchak, a character from my favorite movie “The Big Lebowski.” Walter spoke some very inspirational words, and you can see my take on it hereBe warned, my writing is nowhere near what it’s like now. But I guess that’s the point of this post I’m constructing right now.

July 25, 2013: I wrote my first post about love, which is a milestone for any blogger. You can read the post hereAnd apparently I was feeling rather ambitious on July 25 because I wrote and published two posts in one day.

August 29, 2013: I launched “Sunday Songday,” which has since become “Tuesday Tuneday.” I performed my first song cover, “Creep” by Radiohead. You can listen here. 

September 5, 2013: I attempted to launch another feature called “The Hand Writer,” but it was pretty much a flop. Not all my ideas can be good, right? Regardless, you can see the start my somewhat floppy idea for a blog feature here.

September 10, 2013: I wrote my first post that didn’t have much to do an actual kwote. I started to shift my blog in a broader direction, classifying kwotes as little snip-its of my life and thoughts. Check out the not-so-kwotey piece here. 

September 17, 2014: Sunday Songday turned into “Tuesday Tuneday.” I did this because it didn’t seem like many people were watching my song covers on Sundays. Tuesdays are cooler anyway.

October 7, 2013: I was feeling particularly angsty, so I wrote a letter to my arch nemesis. Said letter is available to read here. 

October 17, 2013: I wrote my first list-style post, which is a right of passage in its own way. Here it is.

October 29, 2013: I posted my first and only reel of Tuesday Tuneday bloopers (I did have other bloopers – lots, actually – but I just never posted them). Check out the post here. 

November 7, 2013: I started a month-long feature called “The Modown.” This feature was in honor of Movember, an event during the month of November where dudes grow mustaches to raise money for prostate and testicular cancer awareness and research. I took a series of photos of myself and my good friend Nick posing as famous mustachioed men. Don’t be afraid to click through the other Modown posts to view my mustache pics.

November 18, 2013: I wrote one of my first creative non-fiction pieces. This one was entitled “Brothers,” and it’s about my experience playing baseball with some of the greatest guys to walk the earth.

January 28, 2014: I tried out this little thing called “Twitter fiction.” It’s basically just flash-fiction crafted in the form of tweets. I think it came out pretty cool. You can check out my first Twitter fiction story here.

February 17, 2014: I talked about why I writewhich is kind of important I guess.

March 5, 2014: I wrote a post called “Revolutionaries. This post marked my journey into fiction, an area that I now have a lot of interest in.

March 11, 2014: I discovered who I am. Read about it here if you like.

March 21, 2014: This was the day that I published my post that was Freshly Pressed. It’s called “I Wondered What Life” was, and it’s available to read here.

May 2, 2014: I told life to hold still. 

May 12, 2014: I wrote a fictional piece about two gentlemen who had no idea of time and space and probably never will. Check it out here.

May 19, 2014: I wrote a post about God being a child. 

June 5, 2014: I wrote a post about a perfect summer night. 

June 23, 2014: I posted a piece that was a bit more simple. It’s called “I Saw You Today.”

June 28, 2014: I published a post that was about 1200 words, and it all rhymes. You can read it here. 

July 3, 2014: End Kwote got a facelift. 

July 18, 2014: I discovered and wrote about a Wolf Tree.

July 23, 2014: That’s today! And I’m writing this post right now! Yeah!!

 

So there you have it. A brief look back into the past of End Kwote. This isn’t by any means a total recall of everything I’ve done. These are just some highlights. But, you’re encouraged to look back through any of my posts and let me know what you think. If you want to see what posts have been the most popular among my readers, you can scroll down to the bottom of your screen and look under the “Most Popular E.K. Posts” section. If you like a particular piece that I listed above, you can always check out the little section at the end of each post that lists other posts that are similar.

This wouldn’t be a one year anniversary post with saying thank you to anyone who’s helped me along the way and/or read any of my work. You’re all the greatest, and I wouldn’t be here without you.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and, if you read my blog, I hope you’ve enjoyed the work I’ve posted this past year.

Thanks again.

End Kwote

5 thoughts on “End Kwote Is One Year Old!

  1. Grats on reaching this milestone!

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

