End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

The rock and the tree, though born separately, were partners it seemed.
What one had, the other did not. Uniqueness was given to each.
The tree could protect from sun’s vivid eye, giving darkness unto the ground.
The rock gave support from that Mother’s fists when her fists she decided to pound.

“Let’s make a deal,” said the rock to the tree. “We both have something to give.”
“If you give me shade I’ll give you support, so through the harsh winds you can live.”
“What a fine idea,” said the tree to the rock. “I think a deal can be done.”
“If you keep me upright through the angry storms, I’ll block out the brutal sun.”

So the rock dug in to the soil beneath, clinging fast to the damp repose.
The roots of the tree took to the rock quite nicely, and it withstood the harsh wind’s blows.
The tree grew up high, growing leaves big as pies, and stretched its arms far and wide.
The rock could rest easy, calm and shady, knowing that from the sun’s rays it could hide

And so it was, the earthy deal, inked in root and in rubble.
They once were separate, but now no more. They two had become a couple.
On they lived in nature’s great novel, providing safety and comfort.
The tree never fell, and the rock never burned, thus the two were bound forever.


So I’ve decided that I’m going to embark on a week-long journey. One filled with twists and turns and potholes and goblins and jackalopes and black holes and a lot of other crazy stuff. Now, this isn’t your run-of-the-mill journey. No, this one is very different.

This is a POETRY JOURNEY ( since Poetry Journey sounds like a poorly constructed cartoon on the education channel and Poejourney and Journety sound pretty dumb, I’ll refer to this event as my Poequest. I know, it still doesn’t sound great, but it’s better than all the other options. Suggestions are welcomed).

For one straight week, I’m going to write and post a poem a day. I have some experience with poetry, but I’ve never really written it on a super consistent basis, so I thought this would be a good opportunity (and motivator) to do that.

I thought I’d start this little feature with a poem I wrote about a nifty-looking tree I saw while I was on a hike today. As always, thoughts and insights are much appreciated.

I hope you’ll tune in for the rest of the week to see what poetic things I have in store. As I said, I’ve never truly dedicated myself to poetry, so I’m interested to see what results of this quest. Hopefully you are too.

End Kwote

2 thoughts on “The Rock and the Tree

  1. Uncle Tree says:

    A very fine tribute to the living 😉 and the hard of hearing.
    Best wishes to you! Cheerz, Uncle Tree

  2. What a great post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I recently started my own personal blog, so feel free to check out my profile where you’ll find my blog and social media sites.

    Have a great day 😀

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

