End Kwote

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Hey.

How are you?

I know, I haven’t been around much. I haven’t been the best friend to you. But things just got in the way. Life got in the way.  I’m not talking about the living, breathing life. I’m talking about the working, responsible, accountable, working, working and more working life. It’s funny. People are always saying how life is so good, that life is such a blessing, but we constantly blame it for standing in the way of that which we love.

But that’s just a sorry excuse. You don’t leave behind what you love. Ever. No matter what’s standing in the way. I always said that you were one of my favorite things, that no matter what happened, I’d always come back to you. I always said that you were so closely tied to me that I would never forget you. I’ll always love you I said. Always.

But I didn’t.

I left you behind.

There isn’t much I can say for myself. An excuse will always be just an excuse. I was busy. I was working. I had a lot on my mind. There was no time. It’s all just bullshit. It’s all just an excuse. I don’t know how it happened or why. I guess, over time, I let you slip away from my mind. And after all you’ve done for me, I feel pretty shitty about it. So let me just say this: I’m sorry.

That’s probably not worth anything. I won’t blame you if you don’t accept. If I were you, I might not either. My apology may seem a bit hollow considering I’ve made ones like it before. You might not trust me, and that I understand.

I’ve let you down, and that’s very sad. But it doesn’t have to be. Quite the contrary. Life – though many times a brick wall – constantly tells us great stories. The film reel for the longest movie ever made, life does not pause. Not even if we want to get up to make popcorn. No, life never stops. It never stops inspiring. It never stops awing. It never stops loving, hating, smiling, scowling, disappointing or affirming. It never slows down, and it leaves it up to us to make sense of.

And so, I’ve come back. Not to act pitiful or to win you over with apologies. No. I’ve come back to say something very important: I have some stories of my own to tell. I have some things I’d love to show you. And I know that you have stories, too. I can’t wait to hear them. I can’t wait to hear your tales about life, love, and the pursuit of all that continues to make absolutely no sense. 

This is the part where I’d normally tell you, “Well, that’s about all I have to say. I’ll see you next time.” But that would be a lie. And since I’ve already betrayed your trust, I’ll just be honest with you. I have more to say. Lots more.  I only hope that you’ll be around to hear it.

With best wishes and kind regards,

End Kwote

3 thoughts on “More to Say

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    The thing about love is that it is is without condition of time…we all go through this “life” thing, so we get it and are here when you are. 🙂

    1. End Kwote says:

      Thank you. For the wise words, and for coming back. It’s always great to hear from a friend

  2. lindiron@comcast.net says:

    welcome back…I wondered where you had gone!

Have a thought? Want to comment? Well you can do it. Right here. In this comment box.

The Best Advice So Far

Thoughts on Living Like It Matters

Drew Chial

Advice for writers, stories about the world they live in.

Call Me Incorrigible

Rainbows, I'm Inclined To Pursue

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Cease, Cows

After it's all said and done, life's just a bunch of kwotes

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

